27th - 29th December, 2010 at Panjab University, Chandigarh

About IEA(Indian Economic Association)


The Indian Economic Association is the oldest, largest and the leading national association of economists in India. Established by Prof. C. J. Hamilton 90 years ago in 1917 in Calcutta, it has now 3500+ members from all walks of life and from all parts of the country and even from abroad. The Association is proud of having as its President, the Nobel Laureate Prof. Amartya Sen in 1989 who was also the President of the International Economic Association. Its former presidents includes renowned scholars like R. K. Mukheerjee, C. N. Vakil, D.R. Gadgil, J. P. Niyogi, V.K.R.V. Rao, B. R. Shenoy, A. K. Dasgupta, B. K. Madan, S. K. Basu, D. T. Lakdawala, I. G. Patel, S. N. Sen, M. N. Dantwala, K. N. Raj, V. M. Dandekar, M. S. Adhiseshiah, Bhabatosh Datta, P.R. Brahmananda, Gautam Mathur, D. M. Nanjundappa, Kamta Prasad, Manmohan Singh, S. Chakroborty, Alak Ghosh, C. Rangarajan, A. M. Khusro, V. R. Panchamukhi, Raja J Chelliah, G. S. Bhalla, C. T. Kurien , T. S. Papola, B. B. Bhattacharya, G. K. Chadha, Professor C.H. Hanumantha Rao.

The unique distinction of the association is that it has organized 92 Annual Conferences so far and is going to organize its 93rd Annual Conference at Panjab University, Chandigarh. The Conference organizes special / memorial lectures, symposiums and current topic sessions and four or more technical sessions where contributed papers are accepted in addition to Key Note and other papers and such contribution crosses the 500 mark in recent years.

Conference volumes are published every year during the conference with all accepted papers either in full or in abstract form. IEA also organizes occasional seminars and workshops in collaboration with regional economic associations / institutions in different parts of India. The IEA also publishes Quarterly Indian Economic Journal (IEJ) which is rated as one of the best economic journals published from India.

The IEA also publishes the Annual Profile containing the IEA News on various matters and list of Members under various categories, Universities like J. N. U., Madras School of Economics, Institutes like NIPFP, NCAER, and Financial Institutions like RBI, IDBI, UTI and the banks like SBI, Allahabad Bank etc.

IEA is a member of the International Economic Association and it had organised the 08th World Economic Congress in 1986 in New Delhi presided by Nobel Laureate Prof. Kenneth J. Arrow. The Congress elected Prof. Amartya Sen as the next president for 03 Years. From the surplus of resources generated from organization of this world congress, the IEA Trust for Research and Development came into existence in New Delhi. There is also another IEA Trust in Chennai. IEA, IEJ and local Organizing Committee of the IEA conference receive regular grants for their activities from these trusts.

In Addition to its formal relations with the International Economic Association, IEA also maintains contact with the various regional associations and other specialized National Economic Associations through occasional Collaborative, Seminars, Publications and participation in their activities etc. IEA Executives Committee members also are elected in a way as to ensure a wide geographical representation of the different parts of the country i.e., at least one members from each state according to its constitution.

Apart from these academic activities, IEA is trying to develop its Medical Welfare Fund for the benefit of its members. IEA has also received now the Income Tax exemption u/s 80G for donations made to the IEA. This will help IEA to build up its much needed corpus in future. The building up of a permanent IEA Office and its Library are among the future IEA Objectives. With the help and cooperation of our members and well-wishers, IEA can surely look ahead to press toward the centenary mark in 2017 with new hope, energy and activities.

President of IEA
Prof. Sukhadeo Thorat